AAPA Installs New Chair, Board Members, Including Wan

Danny Wan. Photo: Port of Oakland.

The American Association of Port Authorities elected a new board chairman – Sean Strawbridge, chief executive officer of the Port of Corpus Christi —on Oct. 17 during its 111th Annual Convention and Expo in Orlando, Fla.

He replaces outgoing Chairman Mario Cordero, executive director of the Port of Long Beach. Cordero made the formal announcement during an address to members and attendees at the event.

Strawbridge has over 30 years of experience in the energy and global transportation sector. He has experience in development, capital structuring, operations and both public and private partnerships. He has headed the Port of Corpus Christi, among the largest gateways in the U.S. for American-produced energy exports, for almost eight years. The port has more than $1 billion in assets under management. 

“The Port of Corpus Christi believes in the mission of the American Association of Port Authorities and AAPA’s advocacy for cogent public policy and funding for critical maritime and (support for) transportation infrastructure in goods movement and commerce,” Strawbridge said. “I am deeply honored that the board of my peers at AAPA has named me Chairman of the Board of Directors for the 2023-2024 term. I look forward to serving all AAPA members … on the complex issues our industry faces in this modern era.”

The organization’s members also appointed Griff Lynch from the Georgia Ports Authority to fill the board seat and remaining term vacated by the new chairman. 

Also elected to the governing board was Danny Wan, from the Port of Oakland, to represent U.S. South Pacific Ports. Four were re-elected – Paul Anderson of Port Tampa Bay as U.S. At-Large Director; Chett Chiasson of Port Fourchon for U.S. Gulf Ports; Jonathan Daniels of Port Everglades for U.S. South Atlantic Ports, and Sean Hanrahan of St. John’s Port Authority for Ports of Canada.

Sitting members of the Board of Directors are Lisa Lefeber of Port of Everett, U.S. At-Large Director; Vanta Coda of Ports of Indiana, U.S. Great Lakes Ports; Richard Hendrick of Albany Port District Commission, U.S. North Atlantic Ports, and Julianna Marler of Port of Vancouver USA, U.S. North Pacific Ports. Board members serve two-year terms.

AAPA’s 11-member board governs the organization and consists of elected representatives from each of AAPA’s U.S. and Canadian regions among the corporate membership. The board meets during the Legislative Summit in Washington, D.C. in the spring, at the AAPA’s annual convention in the fall, and at regular intervals throughout the year, for a total of six meetings.