Two New Port of Portland Commissioners Appointed

Port of Portland headquarters. Image via Port of Portland.

On June 3, the Oregon Senate approved Gov. Kate Brown’s appointments of Katy Coba and Richelle Luther to the Port of Portland Commission.

Coba is chief operating officer and director of the Oregon Department of Administrative Services (DAS). As COO, she works with Gov. Brown, state agencies, the Oregon State Legislature and stakeholders to manage state government enterprise.

Previously, Coba served as director of the Oregon Department of Agriculture for more than 13 years, where she represented Oregon’s agricultural industry locally, domestically and internationally.

Luther is a senior vice president who oversees human resources and corporate affairs for Columbia Sportswear Company. She has been with Columbia for more than 13 years and has 25 years of executive and legal leadership experience.

Coba replaces Bob Levy, while Luther replaces Pat McDonald on the commission.

“The Port Commission plays a key role in creating new statewide economic opportunities and building shared prosperity for the region,” Brown said. “The perspectives and experience of Commissioners Coba and Luther will help bring this vision to life even further and help ensure our marine ports and air terminals continue to keep Oregonians connected to the competitive, global economy.”

The nine-member commission meets monthly. Commissioners are unpaid volunteers who are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Oregon Senate. They serve four-year terms and can be reappointed for an additional term. Commission presidents are selected by and serve at the pleasure of the governor. The commission appoints the port’s executive director.