Port of Oakland Gets 2 New Board Members

New Oakland Board of Port Commissioners members Jahmese Myres (right) and Stephanie Dominguez Walton. Photos: Port of Oakland.

The Oakland Board of Port Commissioners has two new members. PowerSwitch Action Leadership Development Director Jahmese Myres and Voter Protection Project Board President Stephanie Dominguez Walton are the new commissioners, the Port of Oakland announced Sept. 1.

Myres and Dominguez Walton replaced outgoing commissioners Cestra “Ces” Butner and Joan Story. The new commissioners’ appointments were approved by the Oakland City Council in July.

Myres previously worked at the East Bay Alliance for a Sustainable Economy as campaign director and deputy director. From 2014 to 2020, she served on the City of Oakland Planning Commission.

Besides her work with the Voter Protection Project, Dominguez Walton is the director of strategic projects and partnerships for a Planned Parenthood affiliate and has more than 25 years in broadcast journalism.

Oakland Board of Port Commissioners President Barbara Leslie welcomed the new members in a statement.

“We look forward to collaborating and working closely with them as they bring their unique skills and perspectives to their new roles,” she said.

The Port Board consists of seven members nominated by the mayor and appointed by the City Council for four-year terms. Members must live in Oakland during their term and at least 30 days prior to their appointment. Members of the commission donate their time to the Board without salary or compensation.

By Karen Robes Meeks